Review: My daughter’s Secret by Nicole Trope #bookreview @bookouture #bookblog @nicoletrope

Blurb

My baby girl, I’ll never forget you – your smile, your laugh, the way your hair sparkles in the sun. I cannot comprehend this pain. I cannot breathe through it.

In the middle of the night, Claire wakes up to discover that her beloved daughter, Julia, is dead – and life, as she knows it, is over.

Searching for answers, Claire stumbles upon a pile of letters, hidden under Julia’s bed in an old, battered shoebox, and feels closer to her daughter than ever before. They tell her that Julia was happy, that she was thriving at university, that she was in love.

But as the letters go on, Claire starts to feel uneasy at something hidden between the lines. Even as she grieves, she must prepare to face a shocking discovery. Because Julia was hiding a terrible secret – and when it’s uncovered, it will devastate a family already torn apart by tragedy.

An emotional, twisty and gripping page turner that will stay with you long after you finish the last page. Perfect for fans of Kerry Fisher, Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult.

My Thoughts

My first read from this author and I was pleased overall.  It’s a story that tackles two of the biggest stigmas to date, domestic violence and suicide.  Although I couldn’t entirely jel with all the characters, I could definitely understand Claire’s incredible grief when it came to her daughter’s suicide. It’s a tremendously shocking and sudden lose that many find it hard to comprehend.  I felt that.  Is it depressing, yes. But it’s also very real, and definitely strikes a chord among readers.  It certainly makes you think especially when it’s so prevalent in society today.  And then there’s the domestic violence. Shocking, infuriating, emotion provoking, and senseless. Again, it’s a topic that is current and needs to be talked about in order to spread awareness.  I felt the author did justice to both topics and thank her for making it a highlighted topic in her story. The more it’s talked about, the more we’re looking for it.

It was well written, overall, I did come across a few slowish moment and no real twists although I was left emotionally touched and happy that I crochet my blankets and donate them to a domestic violence safe house program!

Thank you Netgalley and Bookouture for my ebook copy to review.

I rated My Daughter’s Secret: 4/5 stars

Happy Reading

Nat

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s